In line with the 2021 Earth Month Celebration with the theme, “Restore Our Earth™” the Department of Energy (DOE), through its Consumer Welfare and Promotion Office (CWPO), together with the European Union-Access to Sustainable Energy Programme (EU-ASEP), facilitated the poster-making and amateur photography contests that revolve on the subject matter, “SHARE TO SAVE: Share your energy-saving practices at home”.

The Poster-Making Contest aimed to encourage kids, and kids-at heart alike, to share their energy-saving practices at home and inspire others to do the same – as saving energy equates to saving money and the environment. The contest was divided into two categories: Traditional Painting and Drawing, and Open category for Traditional and Digital (except 3-Dimensional Mixed Media).

An Amateur Photo Competition was also conducted intended to bring out the Filipinos’ idea on what energy consumer empowerment is to them, specifically, in the following topics on energy:  consumer empowerment, electric power, renewable energy, and energy efficiency and conservation.

The contests ran from 8 March to 14 April 2021 and were participated by a total of 53 individuals from all over the country, wherein 38 submitted their entries in the poster-making contest, and 15 non-professional photographers submitted their photo entries.

The following winners were announced on 22 April by Energy Undersecretary Alexander S. Lopez during the online Information, Education and Communication (IEC) Campaign with the theme “Restoring Our Earth through Energy Sustainability: Sana All” which was also spearheaded by the DOE-CWPO, EU-ASEP and the European Chamber of Commerce of the Philippines (ECCP):

POSTER MAKING CATEGORY A – Traditional Painting and Drawing
1st place: Frank Brabante
2nd place: Robert Q. Ayao
3rd place: Rian Neri

POSTER MAKING CATEGORY B – Open Category for Traditional and Digital Drawing
1st place: Hannah Mayel T. De Guia
2nd place: Patrick Bryan Porras
3rd place: Ysabelle Raye Pastores and Efren Salvador Lagsa

1st place: Einsverg Deocampo
2nd place: Prince Loyd Besorio
3rd place: Mark Paul Medina

The entries were evaluated by the Board of Judges composed of Undersecretary Alexander S. Lopez as the Chairman of the Board, Director Patrick T. Aquino of the DOE-Energy Utilization Management Bureau (EUMB), Director Mylene C. Capongcol of the DOE-Renewable Energy Management Bureau (REMB), Director Mario C. Marasigan of the DOE-Electric Power Industry Management Bureau (EPIMB), Freelance Artists Engr. Jessa Ibañez and Sarah Højholt, and EU Delegation representatives Ileana Miritescu and Stephanie Carette.

Winners will receive a certificate and Android tablets courtesy of the EU-ASEP and Vivant Foundation.